photo: Pelle Buys


Nika Breithaupt alias Nika Son works as a musician, artist, film composer, curator and Dj after graduating in Fine Arts at HfbK Hamburg in 2012.

In her works she examines multi-sensory perception, but also forms of manipulation where the audible reaches the limits of visibility.
Influenced by Musique Concrète and the outer space of electronic music, she plays with modified and fragmented field recordings, interwoven with analog synthesis, broken rhythms, rare voice scraps and modulated tape. Sounds of various origin are translated into a very unusual musical language, as if one watches the audible.

She appeared on various labels, such as Mmodemm, First Terrace Records, TAL, Sky Walking, Anti-Ghost Moon Ray and her own imprint Noctui.

Her latest album  To Eeyore was released on the label Entr’acte in 2020. Two new releases will be out in April 2024 on the label VIS and Futura Resistenza.

Alongside her solo concerts, she creates radio pieces, video and sound installations, and has collaborated for many years with various companions, most notably with filmmaker and artist Helena Wittmann and musician F#X (C, Cwelle).

In her work as a soundartist for experimental film, she is among other responsible for the score and sound design of Helena Wittmann’s highly acclaimed films DRIFT and Human Flowers of Flesh.

For over a decade she hosts regular art and music events at the Golden Pudel Club in Hamburg with various international guests (Next Time, Noctuidae). In 2018 she staged a two-day festival called Eruption, freely based on the musician and video artist Conrad Schnitzler. Since 2019, she co-curates the festival Papiripar together with Felix Kubin and Florian Bräunlich.

As a DJ (also under Nikae), her waywardly sound is marked by the outer space of electronic music, spanning from musique concrete, (early) electronics, synth wave, Industrial, Kraut and experimental Techno.

>> soundcloud

photo: Robin Hinsch

photo: Ralf Köster